South O'Brien School District

Mission:
To prepare students to be responsible citizens and lifelong learners.

South O'Brien School District on Facebook

South O'Brien School District on Twitter

Area Quiz Bowls

Northwest Iowa Area & other Quiz Bowls


Date
Host School/Location
Contact Information
Team
Limits
Other
Notes
Oct
Bishop Garrigan
Algona
   
Oct Ankeny      
Oct
Unity Christian
Orange City
   
Nov Algona HS Kayla Jacobson
kjacobson@algona.k12.ia.us
   
Nov 2008 Siouxper Bowl quiz bowl
tournament
University of Sioux
Falls
The top teams at this tournament qualify for the 2008 NAQT HS National Championship held in Chicago. Full information is available at: http://www.naqt.com/sdqba/siouxper/2008-fall
e-mail R. Robert Hentzel atrobert.hentzel@naqt.com or call 952.888.2277
   
Nov
MOC-Floyd Valley
Orange City
   
First Saturday in December
Spirit Lake
   
Second Saturday in December
South O’Brien
Paullina

Mary Helfter, mhelfter@soswolverines.org
Box 638, Paullina, IA
712-949-3454

1 JV, 1V
 
Jan Bishop Heelan
Sioux City

Christy Osborn
Christy.Osborn@bishopheelan.org

   
January North Kossuth Brooks Walter
515-272-4361
brooks662000@yahoo.com
   
Feb
Cornbelt Conf
West Bend-Mallard
     
Feb
Boyden-Hull
Hull
Ken Zevenbergen
712-439-2440
   
Feb North High
Sioux City
Charles Hoberg
Sioux City North High School
712.899.2671
712.239.7000
hobergc@sioux-city.k12.ia.us
  Click here for more information
March
War Eagle Conf
at W Sioux in Hawarden
 
   
March Algona Middle School Quiz Bowl Twila Wichtendahl
twichtendahl@algona.k12.ia.us
   
May NAQT Iowa State Championship

Scott Michael Nystrom
smnystrom@gmail.com

  Website

Quiz Bowl Coaches: If there is incorrect information posted on this page, or if you prefer to not be listed, or you have something to add, please let me know at mhelfter@s-obrien.k12.ia.us


Area Quiz Bowl Coaches

School Name email
Algona

Lisa Cassens
Mindi Spear

lcassens@algona.k12.ia.us

mspear@algona.k12.ia.us

Armstrong-Ringsted David Mischke (JH)

 

 

 

Karen Folkers (HS)

dmischke@armstrong.k12.ia.us

 

 

 

kfolkers@armstrong.k12.ia.us

Bishop Garrigan, Algona David M. Burrow burrowd@bishopgarrigan.org
Bishop Heelan, Sioux City

Dr. Erica Larson

elarson@stmarys-storm.pvt.k12.ia.us
Boyden-Hull Kent Zevenbergen kent.zevenbergen@boyden-hull.org
Central Lyon John McDonald johnnymac_1948@yahoo.com
Cherokee Amy Fowler afowler@ccsd.k12.ia.us
     
Emmetsburg Matt Stein mstein@e-hawks.org
Gehlen Catholic Mike Meyer mmeyer@gehlencatholic.com
Harris-Lake Park Tracy Anderson tanderson@harris-lp.k12.ia.us
Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn Jim Thomas

 

Terry Putnam

jthomas@hartley-ms.k12.ia.us

 

tputnam@hartley-ms.k12.ia.us

Hinton Katherine Hunter katherine.hunter@hintonschool.com
Lawton-Bronson David Law lawd@lb-eagles.org
LeMars Jakki Gamble Jakki.Gamble@lemarscsd.org
Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn Kelli Langel klangel@marcus-mer-cleg.k12.ia.us
MOC-Floyd Valley Marlene De Zeeuw mdezeeuw@moc-fv.k12.ia.us
North Kossuth Brooks Walter brooks662000@yahoo.com
North Union Kristy Allison kallison@northunion.k12.ia.us
Odebolt Arthur – Battle Creek
Ida Grove
Janet Christensen jchristensen@oabcig.org
Remsen St Mary’s Paul Mugge pmugge@midlands.net

 

 

 

muggep@remsenstmarys.org

Ridge View Patty Wheeler pwheeler@rvraptors.org
Schaller-Crestland Dale Tokheim dtokheim@schaller-crest.k12.ia.us
Sergeant Bluff-Luton Bret Rowse rowsebre@sblschools.com
Sioux Center Rhonda Huisman rhuisman@nwicc.edu
No QB team 08-09 due to budget cuts,
Sioux Central Kari Schmidt kschmidt@siouxcentral.org
South O’Brien Mary Helfter mhelfter@s-obrien.k12.ia.us
Spirit Lake Roland Schmidt rschmidt@mail.spirit-lake.k12.ia.us
Storm Lake St Mary’s Dr. Erica Larson elarson@stmarys-storm.pvt.k12.ia.us
Unity Christian, Orange City Trevor Mouw tmouw@unity.pvt.k12.ia.us
West Bend-Mallard Carlene Heschke

 

 

 

Phil Sorensen

cheschke@west-bend.k12.ia.us

 

 

 

sorensen@west-bend.k12.ia.us

West Sioux Tom Dorhout tdorhout@w-sioux.k12.ia.us
Western Christian   svanengen@w-christian.pvt.k12.ia.us
Woodbury Central Connie Bates cbates@wcwildcats.org

Online Resources for Quiz Bowl Practice

 

  • National Academic Quiz Tournaments http://www.naqt.com/index.html Click on Sample Questions link. There are several “packets” of questions. Click on You Gotta Know link. This is a great reference of categories that lists answers judged to be most valuable to know for quiz bowl.
  • Quiz Bowl Club, Stanford University http://quizbowl.stanford.edu/ Click on Question Archive. There are over 50 tournament packets for you to study.
  • Knowledge Master Weekly Quiz http://www.greatauk.com/Weeklyquiz.html Quizzes are arranged by topic. Read the questions and click on the number for the answer. There are about 60 categories to choose from. Each category has at least 10 questions.

Other Resources

Triple Q Questions: info@tripleqquestions.com

  • P.O.Box 305
  • Vienna, IL 62995-0305
  • Local: (618) 658-2415
  • Toll Free: (888) 461-7572
  • Fax: (618) 658-2415

Questions Unlimited: http://www.qunlimited.com/


KTIV

  • Saturday January 10, 2009 Preliminary Tournament at Morningside College, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Wednesday January 14, 2009 first round matches taped at KTIV, 1-4pm
  • Wednesday January 28, 2009 first round matches taped at KTIV, 1-4pm
  • Wednesday February 11, 2009 first round and one quarter final match at KTIV, 1-4pm
  • Wednesday March 18, 2009 quarter final matches taped at KTIV, 1-4pm
  • Wednesday April 15, 2009 semi final and final rounds taped at KTIV, 1-4pm